Formula Student Competition – FFS 2019 was conducted by Fraternity of Mechanical and Automotive Engineers (FMAE) from 28 September 2019 to 03 October 2019 at Kumaraguru Campus and Kari Motor Speedway. FMAE was founded in 2016 with an initiative to enlighten engineering Students with a healthy knowledge of motorsport vehicle manufacturing and fabrication.

Teams from various Colleges, Institutes and Universities participated in various events to design, fabricate and develop the formula style prototype car under the specific rules as mentioned in the rulebook. This year, 20 teams with around 600 participants across the country registered for FFS 2019. FMAE Officials and representatives from Industries like Intrepid Control Systems, ILensys Technologies, L & T Construction, Motherson Techno Tools Limited, Detroit Engineered Products, E-Trio Automobiles, NSK Bearings, DJ’s Racing were present to conduct the FFS 2019.

Out of 20 teams registered, 18 teams participated in the event and the overall championship of the FFS 2019 was won by “Team Sakthi Racing” Kumaraguru College of Technology, Coimbatore. The runner up was “ “Formula Team Peagsus” PES College of Technology, Pune. Team Sakthi Racing won the awards in the following categories: Overall Champions, Winner – Autocross, Winner – Endurance, Winner – skidpad, Winner – Fastest vehicle and Runner up – design evaluation. Also, the KCT Go-kart team, “Zeall racing” secured Overall second in the Formula Kart Design Challenge and won in the category of Cost evaluation organized by FMAE at Kari Motor speedway from 01 to 03 October 2019.