Dr N Mahalingam Chess Academy & Coimbatore District Chess Association jointly organised the Coimbatore District Selection Tournament at Kumaraguru College of Technology on 04th March 2018 (Sunday). There were various categories such as under 9, under 13, under 17 & open category for both Boys & Girls. Top 4 players from open category & Top 2 players from both boys and girls in the other categories will be representing Coimbatore in Tamil Nadu State Chess Championship to be held during May 2018. Around 300 participants had participated in this Selection Tournament.

The list of winners in various categories is as follows:

Under 9 category:

Siddharth K S, R J School, Mithrakumaran J K, Kendriya Vidyalaya under boys category and Vasanthi S, Kendriya Vidyalaya, Jayashri M, The First School under girls category.

Under 13 category:

Harshad S, Stanes AI Hr Sec School, Arul Anandh, Kendriya Vidyalaya under boys category and Tanushree V P, Chinmaya Vidyalaya, Stepheena S, GRG METT School under girls category.

Under 17 category:

Shreyas M, Sboa MHSS, Sivashanmugam S, Carmel Garden under boys category and Soundarya Lakshmi G, Sri Vishveshwara Vidyalaya, Tejaswi R, Vidya Niketan MHSS under girls category.

Under 25 category:

Mohith R, Vidya Niketan Public School under boys category and Tarunika, KSIRS International School under girls category.

Open category:

Mani Bharathi G, Young Master Chess Academy and Lakkshmi Raja Perumal K.

Cash prize worth Rs. 7500 /- were distributed to the winners under open category. Top 10 players from Boys category and top 5 players from Girls category were awarded with Dr N Mahalingam Trophy. The Cash prize and Trophies will be distributed to the winners during the Founders Day Celebrations (21st March 2018) at KCT.

[PFG id=1829]